I nominate the patron saint of caregivers to the bipolar

Chief Inspector Dreyfus, from the Inspector Clouseau films.

This character, played by the Czech actor Herbert Lom, was driven ’round the bend by the bungling of his subordinate. In the end, the man cracked. Though, at the start of each film, he was there again, ready to be driven insane by the antics of the policeman played by Peter Sellers. I imagine my mother’s funeral. My family is full of long-lived women so I imagine it’s a long way off yet; but one day I’ll have to deliver a funeral oration rather like this.

Herbert Lom and Peter Sellers

Tagged

Leave a Reply

